Current Faculty

Dr. Curt Weller

Dr. Curtis Weller

Department Head
Professor

FIC 233
402 472 9337
cweller1@unl.edu
Area of research: Food Engineering

Dr. Jennifer Auchtung

Dr. Jennifer Auchtung

Assistant Professor
FIC 270
jauchtung2@unl.edu
Area of Research: Microbiology

Dr. Joe Baumert

Dr. Joe Baumert

Director, FARRP
Professor

FIC 282
402 472 3070
jbaumert2@unl.edu
Area of research: Food Allergens

Dr, Andrew Benson

Dr. Andrew Benson

Food for Health Presidential Chair
Director, NFHC
Professor

FIC 115
402 472 5637
abenson1@unl.edu
Area of research: Microbiology

Dr. Andreia Bianchini

Dr. Andreia Bianchini

Associate Professor
FIC 248
402 472 3114
abianchini2@unl.edu
Area of research: Mycotoxins/Food Safety

Byron Chaves

Dr. Byron Chaves

Assistant Professor
FIC 272
402 472 2196
byron.chaves-elizondo@unl.edu
Area of research: Food Microbiology/Food Safety
Food Safety Microbiology Lab

Deniz Ciftci

Dr. Deniz Ciftci

Assistant Professor of Practice
FIC 213
402 472 2767
deniz.ciftci@unl.edu
Area of Research: Bioresource and Food Engineering

Dr. Ozan Ciftci

Dr. Ozan Ciftci

Kenneth E. Morrison Distinguished Professor of Food Engineering
Associate
 Professor

FIC 264
402 472 5686
ciftci@unl.edu
Area of Research: Food engineering, Food Lipids, Supercritical Fluid Technology, Bioavailability, 3D Food Printing

Dr. Jennifer Clarke

Dr. Jennifer Clarke

Director, QLSI
Professor

FIC 253
402 472 2512
jclarke3@unl.edu
Area of research: Bioinformatics

Dr. Mary-Grace Danao

Dr. Mary-Grace Danao

Research Associate Professor
FIC 244
402 472 1595
mdanao2@unl.edu
Area of Research: Food Processing

Dr. Edward Deehan

Dr. Edward Deehan

Assistant Professor
FIC 257
edeehan2@unl.edu
Area of Research: Diet, Microbiome, and Host Interactions in Human Health

Dr. Melanie Downs

Dr. Melanie Downs

Associate Professor
FIC 283
402 472 5423
mdowns2@unl.edu
Area of research: Food Proteins

Dr. Heather Hallen-Adams

Dr. Heather Hallen-Adams

Associate Professor of Practice
Academic Program Coordinator
FIC 252
402 472 2825
hhallen-adams2@unl.edu
Area of research: Molds & Mycotoxins

Dr. David Jackson

Dr. David Jackson

Vice Provost
Professor

VARH 145
402 472 0075
djackson@nebraska.edu
Currently not taking graduate students

Dr. Phil Johnson

Dr. Philip Johnson

Associate Professor
FIC 266
402 472 2278
philip.johnson@unl.edu
Area of research: Food Allergens

Dr. Keting Li

Dr. Keting Li

Assistant Professor of Practice
FIC 251
kli12@unl.edu
3+1 NWAFU-UNL Instructor

Lingyi Liu

Lecturer
FIC 253
402 472 5686
lliu28@unl.edu
3+1 NWAFU-UNL Instructor

Dr. Kaustav Majumder

Dr. Kaustav Majumder

Associate Professor
FIC 256
402 472 3510

Area of research: Food Proteins

Dr. Dongjin Park

Dr. Dongjin Park

Assistant Professor of Practice
402 417 0395
djpark@unl.edu
3+1 NWAFU-UNL Instructor

Kurt Piepenbrink

Dr. Kurt Piepenbrink

Assistant Professor
FIC 262
402 472 6753
kpiepenbrink2@unl.edu
Area of Research: GI Biology

Jeff Price

Dr. Jeffrey Price

Research Assistant Professor
FIC 304
402 472 7293
jprice23@unl.edu
Area of Research: Microbiology

Dr. Amanda Ramer-Tait

Dr. Amanda Ramer-Tait

Maxcy Professor of Agriculture and Natural Resources
Director, NGMP
Associate Professor

FIC 260
402 472 7293
aramer-tait2@unl.edu
Area of research: Microbiology & Immunology

Dr. Devin Rose

Dr. Devin Rose

Professor
FIC 268
402 472 2802
drose3@unl.edu
Area of research: Grains/Legumes

Dr. Hyun Seob Song

Dr. Hyun-Seob Song

Associate Professor
FIC 267
402 416 1413
hsong5@unl.edu
Area of research: Metabolic & Microbiome Modeling

Dr. Jayne Stratton

Dr. Jayne Stratton

Research Professor
FIC 246
402 472 2829
jstratton1@unl.edu
Area of research: Food Microbiology

Rossana Villa Rojas

Dr. Rossana Villa Rojas

Assistant Professor of Practice
FIC 263
402 472 0479
rvillarojas2@unl.edu
Area of research: Food Engineering/Food Safety

Dr. Bing Wang

Dr. Bing Wang

Associate Professor
FIC 250
402 472 2517
bing.wang@unl.edu
Area of research: Risk Analysis

Dr. Junsi Yang

Dr. Junsi Yang

Lecturer
FIC 247
402 890 9497
jyang12@unl.edu

Dr. Yanbin Yin

Dr. Yanbin Yin

Professor
FIC 254
402 472 4303
yyin@unl.edu
Area of research: Genomics and Bioinformatics

Emeritus Faculty

Dr. Susan Cuppet

Dr. Susan Cuppett

Emeritus Professor
scuppett1@unl.edu
Area of research: Food Lipids

Dr. Richard Goodman

Dr. Richard Goodman

Emeritus Professor
FIC 261
rgoodman2@unl.edu
Area of Research: Allergens

Dr. Ted Hartung

Dr. Ted Hartung

Emeritus Professor

Dr. Robert Hutkins

Dr. Robert Hutkins

Emeritus Professor
FIC 258
rhutkins1@unl.edu
Area of research: Fermentation

Dr. Hanna Milford

Dr. Hanna Milford

Emeritus Professor
mhanna1@unl.edu
Area of Research: Food Processing

Dr. John Rupnow

Dr. John Rupnow

Emeritus Professor
jrupnow1@unl.edu
Area of Research: Intro to Food Science

Dr. Vicki Schlegel

Dr. Vicki Schlegel

Emeritus Professor
vschlegel13@unl.edu
Area of research: Probiotcs, Prebiotics

Dr. Steven Taylor

Dr. Steven Taylor

Emeritus Professor
FIC 281
staylor2@@unl.edu
Area of Research: Food Allergens

Dr. Randy Wehling

Dr. Randy Wehling

Emeritus Professor
FIC 284
rwehling1@unl.edu
Area of Research: Food Analysis

Dr. Michael Zeece

Dr. Michael Zeece

Emeritus Professor
mzeece1@unl.edu
Area of Research: Proteins

Courtesy Faculty

Clayton, Jonathon Assistant Professor Biology 612 626 6644 jclayton@unomaha.edu
Fernando, Samodha Associate Professor Animal Science 402 472 6362 sfernando2@unl.edu
Jones David Professor and Head Biological Systems Engineering 402 472 1413 djones1@unl.edu
Rasmussen, Heather Associate Professor Nutrition and Health Sciences 402 472 1373
Sullivan, Gary Associate Professor Animal Science 402 472 6430 gary.sullivan@unl.edu

 

 

Adjunct Faculty

Arndt, Elizabeth PHM Brands Whole Grain Nutrition elizabeth.arndt@panhandlemilling.com
Auchtung, Thomas Synbiotic Health Laboratory Manager tommy@synbiotichealth.com.
Berry, Elaine USDA-ARS Food Microbiology elaine.berry@ars.usda.gov
Crevel, René René Crevel Consulting Food Safety rene.crevel@renecrevelconsulting.com
David, Jairus JRD Food Technology Senior Scientist
jarius.david@jrdfoodtech.com
Flores, Rolando New Mexico State University Dean & Chief Administrative Officer CES, AES rolflo@ad.nmsu.edu
Gray, George George Washington University Environmental and Occupational Health gmgray@gwu.edu
Henrick, Bethany Evolve Biosystems Immunology & Diagnostics bhenrick@evolvebiosystems.com
Hosking, Edan Neogen Corporation Food Safety cmualumni@yahoo.com
Irmak, Sibel Pennsylvania State University Agricultural and Biological Engineering sji5137@psu.edu
Kaufman, Rhett Bayer CropScience Wheat Quality Manager rhett.kaufman@gmail.com
Koppelman, Stef HAL Allergy Food Allergens stefkoppelman@zonnet.nl
Lyu, Mei meilu324@gmail.com
Meneses, Yulie PSA Extention Associate Produce Safety yem4@cornell.edu
Quintero, Maria Dairy Farmers of America Supply Quality Manager misabelq@gmail.com
Ratnayake, Wajira
Ingredion Inc. Starch Chemistry
wajira.ratnayake@ingredion.com
Remington, Benjamin Remington Consulting Group (BV) Food Allergies bremington2@unl.edu
Thippareddi,  Harshavardhan University of Georgia Poultry Science harsha.thippareddi@uga.edu
Vanderhoof, Jon Boston Children's Hospital Pediatric Gastroenterology jon.vanderhoof@childrens.hopkins.edu
Walter, Jens University of College Cork Agric, Food & Nutritional Science jenswalter@ucc.ie
Xie, Xiaoqing A+ Berry, LLC Product Development
xxie5@unl.edu
Yuan, Bo   Product Development
qdily51@gmail.com
Zhang, Jing Northwest A&F University Fermented Foods jingzhang@nwafu.edu.cn
Zhang, Yue Zhejiang Gongshang University Food Chemistry zhangyue@zigsu.edu.cn